Everybody, rock yo body [body movement update]

November 18, 2014 § Leave a comment

It’s been 29 days since I started my 30 day yoga challenge, and I can’t believe how fast that flew!I have to be completely up front with you though, originally I began with Erin Motz’s 30 day challenge, and I loved her videos- they were the perfect way to kickstart some habitual daily yoga. But I needed a little bit more than her 10-15 minute videos. Some days more, some days less depending on the day. So at about day 15 I just started either doing my own freestyle routine, or finding some videos on YouTube that fit my mood accordingly each day.

I’ll address the burning question right up front- Did I skip any days? Intentionally- No. But life does have a way of being so filled with work and friends and fun that there were a couple days, three I think to be exact, that I just completely forgot until I was tucked so snugly warm in bed. I did kick myself a bit when I realized it, for not jumping out of bed and onto my mat. But then I realized that if I did that, it would turn into more of a chore than a relaxing practice. And that’s not at all what this challenge was about.

So what have I noticed since incorporating yoga into my every day routine? Well for one, I notice my flexibility improving; not too drastically yet, but it’s definitely better than before!

I feel much happier throughout the day. This obviously varies from day to day- and of course when the weather here is gross all I want to do is crawl into bed and hide under the covers with loads of baked potatoes- BUT, just taking 15-30 minutes a day to breath and move my body has seriously done some magic in my brain.

I am also sleeping better! I tend to do my yoga before bed, so I am so relaxed and at ease when I curl up. My mattress has been bothering my back and hips lately, but the yoga is helping work that out, and by default, helping me sleep through the night. In fact, I’ve been getting about 9 hours a night, and I could probably sleep longer if my days allowed for it! I don’t know if this is my body’s way of telling me it’s releasing toxins and tension, or if it’s for some other reason; but I’d like to believe the former!

IMG_6284

Resting post-treadmill. Don’t judge my awkward legs<3

 

If you follow me on Instagram, you probably know that I also started doing Couch to 5k this past week. For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, it’s an app that helps you work your way up to running a 5k. It’s pretty simple too; just three times a week, thirty minutes each time. So I’ve been doing that in combination with daily yoga, and I feel so stinkin’ good.

I’ve never been very consistent with exercise, mainly because I didn’t grow up in a family that placed a high amount of importance on physical fitness. But that’s no excuse! I typically get into jogging for about two months at a time then completely let it fall by the wayside. I’m determined to break that habit though and seriously make it a part of my weekly body movement- even in this nasty snowy winter weather!

I’ve noticed my digestion is much better in just the past week after starting to jog again.  I don’t feel as full for as long, which is sort of bitter sweet, but I suppose that means my metabolism is on fire! And I don’t feel quite as achey all the time. I attributed my achey back to my mattress being too soft before, and to be honest I do think that’s still part of the issue; but I think a bigger part of it was that I just wasn’t moving my muscles enough.

So that’s what I’ve been up to! I will need all the support I can get to keep consistent, but I really want to keep it going. I think the difference is that right now I’m not really focussed on weight-loss. I’m focussed on getting fit and being the healthiest I can possibly be. And if I lose weight somewhere down the line, that’s great. I’m not going to stress about it. I think that constantly stressing about losing weight is actually what inhibits a lot of people from doing just that; their bodies are under so much mental [and often physical] stress, that they’re not ready to let go of the extra few pounds.

Water, sunshine, fresh air, sleep, good food, and a positive attitude are key!

Have a beautiful week, lovelies. ❤

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Everybody, rock yo body [body movement update] at Wholesome Holly.

meta

