My 30 Day Yoga Challenge

October 20, 2014 § Leave a comment

I don’t know about the rest of you, but this change in season has me all warm and fuzzy on the inside. Fall is my favorite time of year because it’s when my favorite humans are brought together most often for good food, drink, and laughs. It’s also when I tend to do most of my knitting, because let’s be honest- I really will never have enough scarves in my closet to be content. And the cooler weather means I always have an excuse to snuggle with tea and movies.

Buuuuuuut, my body is mad at me. It’s moaning and groaning and aching, increasingly day after day of moderately slim activity. I’ve never really been an exercise enthusiast, and on the spectrum of gym rat let’s just say I’m more of a gym mouse that would rather eat the [vegan] cheese at home. However, I know when I can’t touch my toes without being in complete agony- something is very, very wrong. So I’m back on my mat this week, actually as of last Friday. And even the tiny little changes that I’ve begun noticing are making a world of difference!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’ve gone through “yoga trips,” as I like to call them; where I visit for a few weeks or months, and then say goodbye for a while. One of my favorite people continually says to me, “Life, is the biggest four letter word you’ll ever come across.” And it’s absolutely true. Life tends to get in the way of exercise for me, and I really want to make it my mission to change that. So why not start with a practice that for me, never feels like work?

If you want to join me, I’d love all the support I can get! I’m doing Erin Motz’s 30 Day Yoga Challenge. Just go to her website, and sign up for the daily emails! No, I’m in no way being compensated for making mention of her challenge, but I really want to share it with you because it’s so simple, relaxing, and even if you’re as busy as Mr. President, you have no excuse not to make it to the mat for her 10-15 minute daily videos. Yes, they’re pretty short so on the days that I can (and feel like it) I jump from her videos into some other yoga practice, just to get my body moving even more. But on the days that I can’t, I still have no excuse not to give myself ten minutes on the mat.

Exercise shouldn’t always be about losing weight, or making gains, or sweating your bum off- it should be about learning to nurture and appreciate your body, making time to move it, acknowledging the ways it can adapt for you with time and practice, and loving it unconditionally.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My 30 Day Yoga Challenge at Wholesome Holly.

meta

